The LCA Board of Directors 2017-2018

Executive Team

Derek O'Connor,


Derek O’Connor has been involved in the construction industry since his move to Canada from New Zealand in 1990. Derek’s ability to see the big picture has served him well as President & General Manager of Westco Construction Ltd. and President of Westco Drilling & Piling Ltd. He is an active champion of local business and has been passionately advocating as an LCA board member since 2011.  

Nathan Neudorf,

past president

Nathan Neudorf has been the Manager of Special Projects at Ward Bros. Construction for the past 6 years. In that time he has overseen the completion of nearly 750 projects. Responsible for every phase of a project, Nathan's expertise lies in Project Manager, Site Supervisor, Journeyman Carpenter, Estimator and Client Relations. Nathan holds the Gold Seal Certification for Project Manager General Contracting, C.E.T. Certification and Red Seal Carpenter's ticket.

Richard Thiessen,

first Vice president

Hailing from a small farming community, Richard Thiessen has establish himself as prominent member of the commercial construction industry in southern Alberta. Richard is the owner of Silver Ridge Construction, a commercial General Contractor in Lethbridge. With over 30 years of extensive experience in the construction industry, Richard lends his vast knowledge to several executive boards, including the Lethbridge Construction Association of which he is a long-standing member.


Darren Guenther,

second Vice president

Darren Guenther is a civil engineer with 15 years of experience in the preliminary, detailed design and construction phases of several water and wastewater infrastructure projects as well as commercial and industrial mechanical projects in southern Alberta. For the past five years he has been a partner at DMT Mechanical Ltd., responsible for all commercial and industrial projects. 


Theresa Yauck,   FWBA Architects

Theresa Yauck,

FWBA Architects

Joe Schwark,   Alpine Drywall Ltd.
Matthew Gilmore,   Astro Insurance 1000

Matthew Gilmore,

Astro Insurance 1000

Ron Vandermeer,   K.B. Heating & A/C Ltd.
Shawn Pasemko,   Canem Systems Ltd.

Shawn Pasemko,

Canem Systems Ltd.

Bruce Topolnisky,   Bartle & Gibson

Bruce Topolnisky,

Bartle & Gibson

Jonathon Hamilton,   Tollestrup Construction Inc.

LCA Board Committees


Alberta Construction Association

Derek O'Connor


Alberta construction Safety Association

Rich Thiessen


WCB / Safety Committee

Darren Guenther


Local Government Action Committee

Dan Wood, Colin Ward, Rich Thiessen, Derek O'Connor, Shawn Pasemko, Nathan Neudorf


Provincial Government Action Committee

Nathan Neudorf


Scholarship Committee

Bruce Topolnisky, Matthew Gilmore


Golf Tournament Committee

Matthew Gilmore, Joe Schwark


Standard Documents Committee

Shawn Pasemko